WhatsApp will not deactivate the accounts of users who do not accept its new policy

1620664582 212364 1620668053 rrss normal.jpg
1620664582 212364 1620668053 rrss normal.jpg

In just a few days WhatsApp faces one of its most decisive dates. The one that will show whether what happened around the new conditions of use impacts or not on the millions of users it has around the world, after starring one of the worst communication campaigns that are remembered and in which, meaning one thing, practically everyone understood the opposite.

He announced that whoever did not accept the new conditions would see his account deactivated.

WhatsApp said today that will not delete or deactivate your account if you do not accept its policy privacy policy, which will apply on May 15. The Facebook-owned chat app had originally introduced the updated privacy policy in January via a pop-up window for users. However, after a great reaction from users, it decided to delay the rollout until February 8 and finally until May 15.

The company then said that if a user did not accept the new policy By then, your account will be would temporarily disable. To activate the account, they had to accept the policy. Despite the many guarantees, users moved to other chat apps like Telegram and Signal in protest.

WhatsApp will not deactivate user accounts


WhatsApp will not deactivate user accounts Unsplash

In a release, the company said it will not deactivate any accounts, but will continue to remind them to accept the policy.

“Although the majority of users who have received the new terms of service have accepted them, we understand that some people have not had the opportunity to do so yet. No account will be deleted on May 15 because of this update and no one will lose the functionality of WhatsApp. We will follow up with reminders to people over the next several weeks. “

WhatsApp specified that while it will not delete your account, you will begin to lose the main functions of the application – such as not being able to access your chat list and eventually stop receiving message notifications – if you do not accept the policy. The company you have not mentioned after how many weeks you will start to restrict your duties at this time.

The new policy lays the foundation for better communication with businesses and other Facebook applications. In February, the company introduced a banner at the top of chats to inform users of this policy change.